Using Apex Utility AI with another pathfinding

• September 18, 2017 at 10:56 #21984
    Funkeyes
    Participant

Hello,
    sorry for the, may be, dumb question, but I am very new to gamedev.
    I am working on a naval tactical/simulation game and i am considering using your Utility AI for the AI controlled ships, airplanes, aso…
    Is it possible and practicable to use your Utility AI with another Pathfinding solution then Apex Path/Steering?

September 18, 2017 at 12:02 #21986
    Rami
    Keymaster

Hi Funkeyes,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the world of game development!

Apex Utility AI does not mandate the use of any other assets – our own included. You can use any pathfinding or steering solution together with Apex Utility AI. Apex Utility AI is simply a decision-making asset.

You may want to take a look at our RTS Demo, which uses Unity’s NavMesh for navigation, rather than Apex Path. The same goes for this version of the modified Survival Shooter demo.

• This reply was modified 2 months, 4 weeks ago by Rami. Reason: Fixed RTS Demo Link
    September 18, 2017 at 12:16 #21989
    Funkeyes
    Participant

Hi Rami,
    thanks for your quick response!
    That sounds great. I think you pasted the wrong link for the RTS Demo link. But i know what you mean!

As a intermediate C# programmer, what do you estimate for learning time, to be able to design and implement a proper pattern for quite complex strategic/tactical ai?

Just asking, because I am considering starting very early in the process with very simple actions and decisions. So i can learning by doing?

September 18, 2017 at 12:39 #21992
    Rami
    Keymaster

Sorry about the wrong link to the RTS Demo, I have fixed it now.

Frankly, asking me to estimate how long it will take you to implement something that you call “complex” is an impossible task. I have no idea how long that might take.