help me understand this properly [Discussion of Utility AI]

• February 28, 2017 at 07:05 #18802
    priyesh
    Participant

Hey, I’m new to this script and this concept. I’m having trouble understanding how to design my utility functions for a simulation not unlike RimWorld or Dwarf Fortress, but for survival elements.

Pardon my meanderings, but I need someone to help me understand the flaws in my thinking. I don’t think I understand how to use Utility theory properly.

FOOD

Let’s just say I have a “hunger” function that helps AIs manage their food supply.

On a basic level, hunger gets low enough (high enough?) then the character should eat from their food supply.

But what if they have no food? Obviously they should look for some. But you’d be pretty dumb if you waited until you had absolutely no food before you started looking.

The answer is that the AI should look for food BEFORE they’re out of food.

So now my utility function isn’t hunger. My character is going to eat regularly and this can be an automated (unintelligent) behavior. My utility function should be food.

My utility function for food: as my food supply goes down, the utility of food goes up. At a certain threshold, it pushes a character to look for food.

But is that dumb as well? The real key is if I have enough food to make a safe journey.

So I design the food utility as: only look for food if I don’t have enough to make the journey.

But this sounds a lot more like a very static behavior tree than a utility function. The agent isn’t really figuring anything out so much as I’m figuring it out for him, and hard coding it.

What am I missing?

RETREAT

Another example I’m having trouble with…

I create a utility function for retreating from battle. On a basic level, it compares the defending NPC’s hitpoints to the attacking NPC’s damage per second. If the threat of death is high enough, then flee.