Context & general principles

• September 10, 2017 at 23:32 #21932
    Moodie Younis
    Participant

First off I wanna say that despite some reviews / comments on the lack of documentation for APEX, that i’m pretty pleased by the level of documentation and support provided on this forum. I am by no means a developer, and I am diving into APEX out of pure interest and as a challenge to myself as an indie game designer / developer.

I have some general questions on approach. Again I am not a master coder but i’ve been intently pouring over the survival shooter demo and other tutorials… I just want to confirm some assumptions I have as a result.

My game will have multiple characters running the same AIs (move, action…), I will probably cap the number of AI’s at 20…. they will essentially be clones (i will instantiate them), but they will have hardcoded variables attached to them that will evolve over time… or based on the players action… such as age… happiness ect…. all of which are variables the AIs will draw upon to score / determine behavior. Since they are all running the same AIs, I’m concerned about duplication and confusion on the engine in that respect… I guess this is taken care of though since each AI will have its own separate instance of the context provider and ALSO that the AIs (move, act) operate as separate instances on that specific character object (instances of the same class). Am I on the right track here?

Also, this might seem obvious but its normal for the Context to be called upon everytime an Action is executed or a scorer is calculated, the information in the context is repopulated as such… correct?

The scorers on the otherhand just refer to the existing context to evaluate something… and then (always) return a value… or nothing.

Sorry if some of this seems obvious, just want to confirm / get a grasp on this. Would really appreciate some help, thanks!

September 11, 2017 at 09:14 #21948
    Rami
    Keymaster

Hi Moodie,